how long did it take to get your first teaching job?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by HufflePuff, Dec 20, 2007.

1. HufflePuff

HufflePuff Cohort

Dec 20, 2007

so...i've been looking for a job since the summer and am currently an aide and tutor. i was wondering how long it took people to get their first teaching job after getting their cert. i NEED to get a job next school year or i don't know WHAT i am going to do!

3. Miss W

Miss W Phenom

Dec 20, 2007

I was actually hired before my certificate came in. That was because the DOE in Arkansas takes forever to get any paperwork through. I graduated in Dec. 03, subbed for a semester, and began the next school year teaching. I was hired 2 weeks after I put in my application and did 2 interviews. The DOE had to send a waiver letter so I could teach. I taught for 9 months before the actual license came in the mail. The problem: They switched over to a new system, and all my paperwork was filed in the old system.

4. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Dec 20, 2007

It took me four years to find my first teaching job.

5. WindyCityGal606

WindyCityGal606 Enthusiast

Dec 20, 2007

I was hired to begin the Monday after my student teaching ended at the same school. I knew one month into student teaching that they wanted to hire me so I got early certification letters from the state put together by the Board. I went down in person for the papers and then got everything else filed early with my university since I had to be ready to work on the Monday following my Saturday graduation.

6. storyh

storyh Companion

Dec 20, 2007

Miss W

Where in AR are you? I live in Conway County, which is in north central AR and I had a terrible time finding a job. I graduated in 2004-no job, so I subbed. 2005-A JOB! I got a one year stint as a title I math teacher. 2006-No job! Back to the daycare I went. 2007-A JOB! I teach 3rd grade at a charter school an hour away from my home. I am envious that you got a job so quickly.

7. Miss W