How long as you still at school after hours?

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by SoReady2Teach, Sep 18, 2010.

1. SoReady2Teach

SoReady2Teach Comrade

Sep 18, 2010

I'm a first year teacher and I've heard stories of how you stay so late after school your first year. I was just curious how late , no matter how long you've been teaching do you stay after school?
    So far the longest I've stayed in my classroom is 6:30. On Fridays, I try to leave around 4:15 or 4:30. I have had later days for off site meetings and trainings where I didn't get home until 8:30.

3. Teach'em

Teach'em Companion

Sep 18, 2010

I'm a first year teacher also, and I leave when the last kid is gone. I just bring everything home with me that needs to be done. I feel the serenity of home is an easier environment for me to work in. I can write lesson plans in my pj's if I want! Also, if there are things that have to be done at school (moving desks, putting posters up, copies, etc.) I will get to school about 30 minutes earlier than usual to have time for that.

4. UVAgrl928

UVAgrl928 Habitué

Sep 18, 2010

It just depends on you (as a first year or veteran teacher). I am in my third year of teaching and last Friday, I was at school until 10pm cleaning, organizing, planning, etc. Two of my teammates were still there when I left (2nd year teacher and 25 year teacher).

I try not to bring anything home. When I leave early, I normally have to bring stuff. For example, I left at 4pm yesterday (we don't get in from dismissal until about 3:45). I have soooo much work that I brought with me. Usually I do it all before I leave, but I was feeling sick.

5. MissScrimmage

MissScrimmage Aficionado

Sep 18, 2010

I'm in my second year. I usually get to school an hour early to work, and stay and 1/2 an hour to an hour after the students leave at the end of the day. I also bring stuff home.