how long after interview are you hired??

Discussion in 'General Education' started by cafemocha, May 13, 2009.

1. cafemocha

cafemocha Rookie

May 13, 2009

I am new to the public school system. I am now starting to set up interviews. My question is: How long after the interview before you know if you have the job?? Is is a couple of months, a couple of weeks, or immediately? A lot depends on me getting a teaching job for the fall.

3. terptoteacher

terptoteacher Connoisseur

May 13, 2009

Each school and principal is different. In one case I was called within two days. At one school I waited for 2 months for a yea or nay. They ususally tell you at the end of the interview when they'll be contacting you.

4. Securis

Securis Cohort

May 14, 2009

At my current school, I think I had taken five steps out the front door before my future principal yelled for me to stop so she could tell me that the district was going to hire me. I think that was, maybe, just over a minute after the interview ended. Desperate much?

It CAN happen very fast.

IF you want, making a professional follow-up call after a week, give or take, is something you can do. Ask questions you have strategically thought about since the interview. Ask if the position is closed. Whatever but it will help to show you are interested and will keep you fresh in the principals mind. Don't over do, once is enough.

5. SuperBug!

SuperBug! Rookie

May 14, 2009

It definitely depends on the time frame the district is working with. If they have all summer to make a decision, it could be a couple weeks. When I was hired, my interview was at 9:00 am and I got a phone call offering me the job at 2:00 pm. But I was interviewing two weeks before school started so they wanted to get someone in right away. There's not a set timeline, it's just how soon they need someone.

Good luck!

6. lou reed

lou reed Companion

May 14, 2009