How is your summer going?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Peregrin5, Jun 27, 2013.

1. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Jun 27, 2013

Just wondering how everyone's summer is getting along and if you're doing anything teaching related.

I kind of took a decision to stress myself this summer by doing an RET (research experience for teachers) at a university lab. I'm doing extremely difficult physics and math that I've never done before, and I'll be building a high powered laser. Apart from my brain melting it's fun. The only downside or upside depending on how you look at it is that I'm in Colorado for 6 weeks.

It's a lot hotter here than I thought it would be. Hotter than California even though it snows here in winter. Also my boyfriend is still in California so I feel kind of isolated. It's a new experience though and I'm doing my best to enjoy it!

How has your summer been coming along?

3. iteachbx

iteachbx Enthusiast

Jun 27, 2013

Mine just started today. Getting ready for summer school already but at least I have next week off.

4. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Jun 27, 2013

Our kids went home May 17.

I've worked 8 days so far: two curriculum mapping, two writing plan, two leadership, two service learning. I was supposed to have two more this week, but I had jury duty.

I go back to work July 29. That leaves me two weeks before I have to get my room ready.

5. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Jun 27, 2013

I've been applying for new jobs and interviewing. Not much time to do anything else....

6. Shanoo

Shanoo Habitué

Jun 27, 2013

Going? It hasn't even started yet!!!

7. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jun 27, 2013

Just got out Friday...

I'm off to a good schedule with getting some projects done around the house, working out, tutoring...

I'll get in some beach days...also have 2 weddings in July plus a coaching workshop and book club.

:thumb:

8. Ms_C

Ms_C Comrade

Jun 27, 2013