How is your classroom library organized?

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by Ellensmom, Jul 20, 2010.

1. Ellensmom

Ellensmom Companion

Jul 20, 2010

I am new to 5th this year and right now I just have my books on a shelf with large collections of author or theme in baskets. The other 5th grade teacher sorts her books by alphabetical order in baskets. We both use cards for students to check out the books. She closes her library for a couple of weeks each term to sort and locate missing books. I'm curious as to how most 5th grade teachers organize your libraries. What system have you used for checking out and organizing? What works and doesn't work for you? :unsure:

3. teachgrade5

teachgrade5 Comrade

Jul 20, 2010

I am going to be reorganizing my class library starting this week. I have my books in baskets also. Some of my baskets are by author, some by themes, and some by genres. I have two or three student libarians who help check in and out books. They also keep the library straigtened. I am going to label every basket before August and if I have time, I will also label the books so the students know what basket they got the book from. I also have my libary set up with a big comfy chair and a small area rug to make it more inviting.

4. amakaye

amakaye Enthusiast

Jul 20, 2010

I laughed when I saw your thread title--right now my books are all in massive piles in the middle of the floor! There's NO organization right now at all :)

5. Ellensmom

Ellensmom Companion

Jul 20, 2010

My library is usually one of the first things I tackle. I guess because it is such a concrete thing to deal with. I am very much a hands on type of person, so the more I can deal with physically, instead of having to visualizing, the better off I am. Plus, I changed rooms this year, and the boxes of my library books were easily identified, so I could get to them first.;)

6. meeko32198

meeko32198 Rookie

Jul 20, 2010