How do you support yourselves financially?

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by Froreal3, Sep 4, 2011.

1. Froreal3

Froreal3 Companion

Sep 4, 2011

Hi all. I don't post much, but I've been a member of the forum for a few months. I have a dilemma: money. I want to know how you all support yourselves in such a low paying field.

Some background: I recently received my BA in ECE. However I am not early in my career. I have been in the ECE field for a while now. I've been working with children in some capacity for the past 14 years. I have about 8 years of experience in ECE professionally. Currently I am employed by a large corporate chain child care company. I am originally from NYC and as a lead teacher there, I made a little over $13.00/hour...which is good for the field, but clearly not a living wage.

I recently relocated to GA with my husband and our 3.5 year old daughter. My company transferred me and I now make $12.00/hour. Now here is my problem:

My husband is student teaching currently and will receive his MA in November. This means he can't work because student teaching is basically a full time job. He used to get unemployment insurance, but that was recently cut off. The unemployment insurance was how we paid for childcare for my daughter..."Why didn't my daughter attend either location of my job?" you ask...Well the NYC location would have been $1000/month and that is with a 50% employee discount. The GA location is a "client center" which is only for employees of a particular company. They have very limited spots for staff children. My supervisors say they are "looking into" getting my daughter a spot...but I don't know if/how soon that will happen.