How do you stay organized?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by newtothis2006, Jul 21, 2008.

1. newtothis2006

newtothis2006 Rookie

Jul 21, 2008

I'm a new teacher- have one year experience. I need a good system for staying organized throughout the year. I would like to have such a system that I could add to and use year after year. More specifically, should I organize my lessons, activities, and reproducibles by state objectives? Should I have a binder for each one?

What do you do that helps you find things when you need it in an organized way?

Thanks!

3. touchinglives

touchinglives Companion

Jul 21, 2008

I make an agenda and a binder with the lesson plans and materials to be copied to match the agenda. I turn the pages in the binder to be ready for the next day, and either copy materials ahead of time or in the morning. The agenda covers a certain amount of time and is one page, so it just stays in one spot. I can glance at it whenever I need to figure out when we did something or when we will be doing something, and then turn to that section in my binder if I need to find something. It works really well for me. I hope it will work as well this year, as I will have several different classes/binders for the first time.

Good luck on finding a system that works for you!

4. paperheart

paperheart Groupie

Jul 22, 2008

I am not perfectly organized by any means...here are a few things I am going to try for next year. I think they will work for my style of organizing.