How do you stay motivated to become/being a teacher despite all the bad rep?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by AnnieC, Feb 28, 2015.

1. AnnieC

AnnieC Rookie

Feb 28, 2015

Hello everyone,

for the longest I've admired the profession of being a teacher. I have always had a lot of respect to those teachers who truly strive to teach and make a difference. But, growing up I've realized how much bad reputation schools,education,teachers and the salary have in general..I understand this problem depends on many different factors, but the controversy within these topics are endless (as it is with many other careers).

I am an aspiring teacher at least hope to become one someday. I was contemplating between Education or Healthcare and honestly, I feel I would like to be a part of the Education field much more. But, I have to admit sometimes these things get to me..since I am currently in my early 20's and in the "decision making/finding yourself" stage of my life. It just saddens me a bit how I constantly read/hear things like:

"Teachers are just babysitters"
    "Teachers can't make a living with their salary, they don't get paid enough"
    "Don't plan on being rich"
    "You won't find a job!"
    "Teachers don't have a life"
    "Schools aren't safe anymore"
    "The education system is so poor, that's the reason we have so many problems"
    "Technology is wiping out teachers,we don't need them anymore"
    "They don't teach you the real things you need to know in life"

Oh, and I can go on and on.

But, there's a part of me that says..wait, aren't a teacher one of the most important professions out there? Don't we need to be educated first,regardless? I know, it all truly depends on the school districts and teachers to make a difference. There will always be negativity and it's my responsibility to balance those out and bring the positive in things. I don't care what type of subject it is, in the end we. need. teachers.