How do you start YOUR writers workshop?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by VANewbie, Sep 11, 2011.

1. VANewbie

VANewbie Devotee

Sep 11, 2011

I am pretty good at introducing reading and I am using Daily 5. This is really helping me. But how do you start writers workshop? I have never done this before so I do not know where to start. Our school does not have a writing program that we use.

Is there a planning sheet online someone that could help me get started?

3. jwteacher

jwteacher Cohort

Sep 11, 2011

Always start with a mini-lesson on what you want to teach for the day. If you're introducing a new unit, I read a great example of quality work to show kids what the end result of a writing project could look like. The great thing about writer's workshop is that you scaffold mini-lessons each day so that students build the writing skills they lack.

4. VANewbie

VANewbie Devotee

Sep 11, 2011

I guess that is my problem. Where would you get your ideas for a mini unit? You pacing guides?

So for example if you need to teach letter writing you could do a read aloud and then a mini lesson and then the students go to their seats to practice?

5. jwteacher

jwteacher Cohort

Sep 11, 2011

Yes, you could do exactly that. If you wanted your kids to write a biography, you could read a short biography and have the kids brainstorm the elements of a good biography afterward.

When I started a mini-unit, I got together with my team to go over the grade-level expecations and figure out some general guidelines of lessons we wanted to teach. We had to be flexible to allow for additional lessons if necessary.

There are many books on mini-lesson ideas. A good book for starters is called Writing Workshop: The Essential Guide.

6. VANewbie

VANewbie Devotee

Sep 16, 2011

Oh I see. So it is pretty much what I have been doing.

Got it!

7. Tasha

Tasha Phenom

Sep 17, 2011