how do you review for state tests with your students?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Emerson Squirl, May 8, 2011.

1. Emerson Squirl

Emerson Squirl Rookie

May 8, 2011

I'm kinda at a loss as to how I should prepare students for their tests. As a first year teacher I don't have experience to guide me. On top of that I am unfamiliar with which objectives are typically on the test and, therefore, which to spend time reviewing. It's making my stress level rise!! Any ideas on how to make this task more manageable?

3. luckyal29

luckyal29 Companion

May 8, 2011

Our school purchases Test Prep booklets.

Not sure about your state, but my state releases questions that were on the state tests from previous years. I suggest you search and if Utah doesn't have it, try CA or Texas.

So with either test prep questions, we'll correct it together and I or the students will model their thinking out loud. I'll also try and teach strategies. I make sure they show evidence or find evidence for their answer.

4. nstructor

nstructor Cohort

May 8, 2011

Most states also have copies of the most frequently tested indicators and/or standards.

5. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

May 8, 2011

Look at your state site. Released tests and testing objectives should be listed.

6. mb_teacher

mb_teacher Companion

May 9, 2011

I would look at the objectives on the review booklets and make a note of them.
    Review the objects through the whole year. Then, you aren't cramming last minute and wasting precious instruction time.
    This is what the schools I have taught in and observed in have always done and the students to very well on the tests.

7. newbie23

newbie23 Comrade

May 9, 2011