How do you keep from getting depressed?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by OneBerry, Aug 14, 2012.

1. OneBerry

OneBerry Comrade

Aug 14, 2012

Hi, fellow job seekers and advice givers. I have been teaching full-time for the past two years, but I left my job to marry my husband and moved out of state. Don't get me wrong, it was a great decision, but I haven't even been able to get an interview in my new state. I've had others look at my resume and cover letter. I've applied to every opening I can find, plus districts that don't have any openings. My new area seems to have extremely limited opportunities (there is no big city close enough to us and the small towns don't seem to have many opportunities). :mellow:

Now what? I'm starting to get depressed. How do you keep from just being sad?

3. TeachTN

TeachTN Comrade

Aug 14, 2012

Do you have a license in the new state? That may be the block that is hurting you right now, if you can't legally teach in that state, the principals may not want to interview.

Otherwise - email your information to ALL principals of schools that you are eligible to teach in (don't sent to HS if you are licensed Elem :) ) - interim positions may open up during the year and you want to be the name they think of to fill that short term vacancy.

As for preventing depression, I'm no help there, but hopefully by getting your name out there you can get a bite.

4. Rainbowbird

Rainbowbird Groupie

Aug 14, 2012

I agree, email everyone and start subbing, per diem or interim if you can.