how do you handle vocabulary?

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by ms_chandler, Aug 11, 2007.

1. ms_chandler

ms_chandler Comrade

Aug 11, 2007

I teach 7th grade ELA for 95 mins. every day all year. Monday is what I call VOCABULARY DAY. What are your ideas? Do you make kids define their words or give them the definitions? What are your activities? Do you give a pretest? When do you test?

3. kiddiekat

kiddiekat New Member

Aug 14, 2007

I am new to teaching, but I'll be in 7th grade LA, also. I was planning to do a vocabulary word one day each week also.:) I begin in exactly 1 week and I still don't really have any other ideas. I thought I would do the vocabulary as the bellringer one day--have them copy the word(s)-either with the definition or have them look it up-in their journals, write a short 3 sentence para. to show that they understand it. Then maybe do a test after 3 or so weeks on the words they have had.

I know this is probably not much help to a veteran teacher, but I would appreciate feedback from you on my idea. :thanks: Do you have any other bellringer ideas I could use? Thanks.

4. kelbel7583

kelbel7583 Rookie

Aug 19, 2007

Have the students act out each vocabulary word. I usually break them into groups and have them present the skit to the class. The class has to guess the correct vocabulary word.

We also create vocabulary flip books. At the bottom of the page students write the vocab. word. At the top of the page is the definition. In the middle, students must illustrate the word meaning.

Fortune Teller/Cootie Catcher
    (In order to understand this activity, It's easiest to actually make your own example with the class.)
    - Teach the class how to fold the fortune teller.
    -On the front they write the numbers 1, 2, 3, 4
    - Then when the flip over on the back you should be able to see the outline of eight triangles. This is where they write the vocabulary words.