How do you handle students who don't like you?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Ms.Holyoke, Aug 8, 2015.

1. Ms.Holyoke

Ms.Holyoke Connoisseur

Aug 8, 2015

I'm a college student teaching 8th grade math this summer. One of my classes is going really well, but in my other class, 2 of my students don't like me at all. It's frustrating because I have a high school student junior teacher in my classroom and they obviously prefer her to me and it's really frustrating. For example, I was collecting Do Nows and a student wouldn't give her Do Now to me, but would only give it to the junior teacher.

School is almost over, but it's super frustrating and I hate it. I want to be a teacher so how do I handle situations like this?

3. bewlove

bewlove Companion

Aug 8, 2015

I'm assuming this is a summer school situation?

Honestly, I feel like a lot of times (certainly not always) that students in summer school are more apt to have behavior issues and issues with school to begin with, hence why they are failing and have to take the class over the summer.

If it is not a summer school situation like that, then please forget that statement. :)

I do feel that this is a lack of establishing authority, and I totally understand because I had some serious behavior issues with my kiddos last year, and it was my first year. I know it's hard to learn how to establish that.

In the future, I would try personal conferencing. I wouldn't do it as a, "Why don't you like me? What can I do to make this better for you?" approach, because then the student has the upper hand. I would say something more along the lines of, "Hey, Johnny. I know that there have been some issues with (insert behavior) in my class. Is there anything going on that I should know about? I think you are a great kid and I see all that you are capable of. Here are the expectations in my class. I want to help you reach them."