How do you get kids to care about historical literature?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by katbecky, Apr 29, 2009.

1. katbecky

katbecky New Member

Apr 29, 2009

Hi, I am a student at the University of Arizona and I am doing a project for my introduction to children's literature class. I would really appreciate any insights you could give me! I have a question:

How do you get your students to care about historical literature? Or history in general? Are there any special projects that you have done, or tips and tricks you might have to get kids involved with this topic?

Thanks for any information you can provide, I can't wait to get into the classroom!

3. GoldenPoppy

GoldenPoppy Habitué

Apr 29, 2009

I love history! 4th Grade in California is all about our state history, so it's a huge part of my curriculum. I approach it as a story, full of all sorts of people who have done some very great things and some equally awful things.

We read very little in the text book, just enough to set the stage. I tell them lots of stories. We have projects for each of the different units; for example, we just finished our Rancho unit where they had to create a petition and a diseno of a land grant and present their application to the governor for approval.
    We will start on the pioneer unit Monday where they will be walking a mile every afternoon to move their wagon along the California-Oregon Trail map we have in the classroom. I dress up like a pioneer woman and introduce the book Patty Reed's Doll to them.

4. Doug_HSTeach_07

Doug_HSTeach_07 Comrade

Apr 29, 2009

I think the biggest thing for me is emphasizing how much history can teach us about decisions to make, and whenever possible, relate it to the present.

For example, in covering the late 1800s and early 1900s progressivism movement, we discussed the social problems in that time period vs. the social problems to today. We compared Michael Moore to Upton Sinclair and Jacob Riis.