How do you gain respect in the classroom?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by bewlove, Jan 5, 2015.

1. bewlove

bewlove Companion

Jan 5, 2015

It's my first year, and I've started out too nice. About a month ago, I came to this realization and I have been trying to lay down the law ever since. The problem is, the few trouble makers that I have still don't take me very seriously and refer to me as the "nice teacher".

I don't even know how to be stricter. I clip my students down, I take recess, I call home. I provide incentives for my students when they behave correctly. I think if I start next year like I am now, it will be better. But after starting so nicely, I think my students are still lacking respect and don't take my threats seriously, even though I have been following through. Any experiences with this and how long it takes to actually start seeing some results?

3. WarriorPrncss

WarriorPrncss Companion

Jan 6, 2015

It's really tough to go from nice to tougher mid-year.

My advice is to just stay firm and ALWAYS follow through with what you tell them. Consistency is key and results will depend on that.

4. Backroads

Backroads Aficionado

Jan 7, 2015

Yes, true solid consistency will get you there. It might not be as instantaneous as you like, but you're in a situation where you have to prove yourself to them.

I would also cut down on lectures and whatnot, if you tend to do that. Make sure the rules and instructions are clear, and give them the consequence if the kids fail on that. No repeat or rehash needed.

5. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Jan 7, 2015

You can always start over, literally any day is good for that, but obviously it's much easier after a break like this.

maybe rethink what you were doing before (specifics) that you think made your students not respect you? Is it giving too many chances? Empty threats? Sometimes it's the very little things.