How do you find out about workshops/conferences?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Elocin, Jan 1, 2011.

1. Elocin

Elocin Comrade

Jan 1, 2011

During my mid-year review, my principal mentioned that if there were any conferences or workshops I would like to attend that he (well, the school) would be willing to pay for me to go.
    I am pretty excited about that offer, because right now I am a certified teacher working as para/co-teacher, and I would love the opportunity to learn more and show I am serious about continuing education. We are opening a new K-8 next year and I really want them to see I am a great candidate for my own classroom.

The problem is, I have NO idea how you find out about workshops or conferences that are scheduled. Is there a website or mailing list?

Thanks!

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Jan 1, 2011

What area are you interested in....I check the IRA website for reading, NCTM for math, NSTA for science, etc. These are great for finding good conferences on subject matter areas.

I love Peggy Sharp for reading as well. Or look into other authors that you enjoy! Many of them host conferences/workshops.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jan 1, 2011

In NY and NJ, there are regional training centers that offer graduate and inservice classes.
    https://www.thertc.net/main.php
    My district is also part of a curriculum center which offers classes.
    Check local museums...I found some great workshops offered at Ellis Island thru a link another member here posted.
    Our state teachers association offers workshops and features other professional development opportunities on its website and publications.

5. bandnerdtx

bandnerdtx Aficionado

Jan 1, 2011