How do I write a cover letter?

Discussion in 'Job Hunting & Interviews' started by MisterG, Mar 16, 2006.

1. MisterG

MisterG Comrade

Mar 16, 2006

Cover letter - Part 2

*Hello,
    I have a new draft below at the bottom, please let me know what you think. :)

Thanks,
    Ryan*

Hello all,
    As this spring rolls around, Im starting to get stuff squared away for applying to districts. I think Im having a rough time with my cover letter though.

Can you guys offer advice as far as the length, content...etc that should be in a cover letter?

The following is an example of what I have on a previous cover letter. I guess I just dont know how to write a decent one:

"Dear Mr. x:

I am applying for the sixth grade social studies teaching position for the X public school district which has been posted on the EdPost website.

I graduated from Minnesota State University Moorhead in May 2004 with an elementary education degree and then began the 2004-2005 school year in Las Vegas, teaching fourth grade. Shortly thereafter, staff changes were made and I was placed in a Kindergarten classroom in early October where I finished the school year. During that experience and over the past school year, I learned much about classroom management and organization along with the importance of procedures and routines.

Throughout the school year, I attended various workshops and new teacher training seminars so that I could expand my teaching methods and experiment with new strategies. I have implemented these techniques into the classroom environment.

I have also had the pleasure of serving on the Social and Technology committees as well as being Kindergarten grade level chair for the spring of 2005. I represented my grade level at Instructional Data Management System trainings and then passed on this knowledge to my fellow teachers. I feel very capable of teaching / helping out in other areas such as keyboarding / computers, technology…etc.