How do I switch from slow dial-up?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by oldstudent, Aug 8, 2011.

1. oldstudent

oldstudent Comrade

Aug 8, 2011

In the 10 years since I have had a computer, I have had slow dial-up.
    I don't even think MSN offers high speed internet without making one partner up with another company.

Unfortunately, however, I am a tech dunce. This is partly due to my learning disabilty, and partly due to my fear of being in computer limbo should I do it wrong.

I am afraid of losing all computer use during a failed transition.

My question is simply this:

What are the steps required to switch over to high speed?

Do I need to open the back of my tower and remove or add anything?
    Do I need to uninstall and install someting new?

Do I need to replace cables?

What do I need to do?

I appreciate any input.

3. mollydoll

mollydoll Connoisseur

Aug 8, 2011

If your computer is 10 years old, you may be unable to add a compatible network card. Or you may have an onboard ethernet card that might work just plugged directly into the back of your computer.

If you have USB ports, the simplest way to add a card would be get a USB network card.

It shouldn't be difficult to do, but without knowing what equipment you currently have, it is hard to give any good advice.

Do you know anyone who could come over for an hour or two and sit down with you and walk you through some of these things?

4. oldstudent

oldstudent Comrade

Aug 8, 2011

I have a 2001 Compaq Presario 5000.

I have a friend who is a video whiz, but not a computer whiz. Maybe his son would help.

Of course, calling a computer pro would likely cost a few hundred dollars, which is not an option.

5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Aug 8, 2011