How do I let them know I mean buisness?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education Archives' started by JulesW, Dec 16, 2004.

1. JulesW

JulesW Rookie

Dec 16, 2004

I am a first year teacher, teaching remedial English to 9, 10, and 11th graders. I got the reputation for being easy after my first semester, but I plan to kick it up a couple notches in Jan! I only wrote 2 people up my first semester (I liked to deal w/ behavior probs myself..) but this semester I am not going to have the patience to deal w/ everything..I'm going to be STRICT.

I need advice!!!

3. Prissypants

Prissypants Companion

Dec 16, 2004

I had a hard time with this one, too. My first year, everybody told me, "Start off strict, then you can ease up." I thought they were crazy. Hindsight is 20/20, as they say.

I too, tried to toughen up the second semester. It worked out okay, but prepare yourself for a long year. They'll never get over the fact that you were a softy, and now a hard a**. That is, unless you are the lucky one who gets a whole new batch of kids each semester.

If I were you, I'd go in on the first day of the new semester, and tell everybody that what we've done so far isn't working. We need to set some guidelines. This will let them feel like they are a part of the process and not be shocked when you spring it on them. Explain that you feel like things are not going as they should, and by setting some ground rules, they will know what is expected of them. It will save them the annoyance of having you suddenly snap.