How do I keep it simple?

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by Shiloh17, Nov 23, 2014.

1. Shiloh17

Shiloh17 Companion

Nov 23, 2014

Hi,

I am in my second year of teaching pre-k. I am struggling on keeping projects simple for the children, my assistant and me. I tend to over think, over due and over plan. I'm tired of always trying to be super creative or cute. I put so much stress on myself with projects. I need advice...I spend way too much of my own time planning and using outside resources. For example, I always think that for every holiday I need to send home a gift for the parents. I put so much pressure on myself and I've come to my breaking point. I also feel like I have to send something home with the children everyday...Any advice? How can I stop over thinking.

Thanks,

Shiloh

3. kpa1b2

kpa1b2 Aficionado

Nov 23, 2014

When I taught pre-school the only time I sent a gift home that the students made was for Christmas, Mother's Day or Father's Day. We were also play-based, so nothing was really cute & I didn't spend a lot of time planning.

4. LouiseB

LouiseB Cohort

Nov 23, 2014

I don't teach lower grades so doing "cute" things and parents' gifts are things I just don't need to do. I think that when doing a project regardless of grade level, you need to think about what do the students get out of it. What are your objectives? Does the project need to be cute? Do parents really need gifts all the time? Do you have the budget for all this extra stuff or is it coming out of your pocket? Sometimes we have to do what really needs to be done and forget all the frills.

5. scmom

scmom Enthusiast

Nov 23, 2014