How do I get my class to snitch??

Discussion in 'General Education' started by teachin4ever, Mar 5, 2009.

1. teachin4ever

teachin4ever Cohort

Mar 5, 2009

Hey everyone.

Two students in one of my classes were reading one of the books in my library (Shel Silverstein hard cover book, donated to my class by one of my student's parents) and noticed there was some, well, inappropriate drawings added to the illustrations. I was appalled.

I'm pretty positive I know which class it was, but I have no idea who it was or how recently this happened. Any ideas on how to bring this up to the class? I'm furious that my class would do this and want to find the culprit, but I'm not sure how to go about it.

I was thinking offering 5 no homework passes to anyone with information?? I don't know. This is my first year and I've never been put in this situation before.

:help:

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Mar 5, 2009

I would suggest showing the pictures to each of your classes. Say that you know it was done in one of the classes, and that if anyone has any information about who did it, they can write the name on a piece of paper and lay it on your desk. No questions asked.

4. becky

becky Enthusiast

Mar 5, 2009

I'd clip a 20- dollar bill to those homework passes! Then, I'd break the arm of whoever did it. This kind of stuff makes me livid.

I got a book from our public library about chickens, when Jeannie was small. Every chicken had an anus penned on it's butt. Another time, I got an Amelia Bedeliea(sp?) book that had nipples drawn on every picture of Mrs. Rogers. I hate to see books disrespected.

5. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Mar 5, 2009

I'm sorry becky, that that made me laugh. :lol: Iit's sad that people feel the need to do this to books, especially children's books.

6. NEFLteacher

NEFLteacher Rookie

Mar 5, 2009

You could try asking for the offender to admit his/her wrong doings (in private) and explain there will be no punishment.