How do I get a paraprofessional position with no experience?

Discussion in 'Paraprofessionals' started by Jadoo, Jun 29, 2015.

1. Jadoo

Jadoo Rookie

Jun 29, 2015

I am a student studying for a B.A in Elementary and Special Education. I'd like to get a parapro job, as I'm doing my degree online. The only problem is, I have no experience being a parapro. I taught ESL in Mexico for 4 months and I was an English Language assistant in two French middle schools for nine months, but no experience in a US classroom.

In my state, you can exempt the para pro exam with 60 college credits, which I have, thus making me eligible for the certificate.

I've just started my major-specific classes of my degree, so I'm not sure how much being an education major would help at this point.

3. eternalsaudade

eternalsaudade Companion

Jun 29, 2015

TBH, unless the job market is incredibly saturated, you likely won't have much trouble getting hired without experience. Talk about your ESL experiences (both sound quite valuable, especially if the school serves ELLs), show enthusiasm, be articulate and I doubt you will have much trouble finding something. If you speak any other languages, make sure to put that on your resumé as well. :)

4. renard

renard Companion

Jun 29, 2015

You are already more than qualified.

5. ChildWhisperer

ChildWhisperer Groupie

Jun 29, 2015

I had zero experience in public schools and I got hired on the spot for a paraprofessional position so you'll be fine :)

6. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Jun 29, 2015

I agree with everyone else above. My past school hired anyone who had the bare minimum credentials (and by that I mean meeting the state requirement). No experience or interest in education necessary. You are definitely more than qualified and should have NO trouble at all.

7. Jadoo

Jadoo Rookie

Jun 30, 2015