How do I find work when I don't currently live in the USA?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Mr_Gourami, Mar 29, 2017.

1. Mr_Gourami

Mr_Gourami New Member

Mar 29, 2017

3 questions at bottom of post.
    But first the situation:
    Bio
    I am a student teacher.
    I am in the UK doing a PGCE - a one year teacher certification for UK curriculum.
    I am an american moving home to Houston Texas.
    Situation
    I know I need to get the certification converted, and i know how to do that. I can't start that process till I graduate June 28.
    As far as I can tell, that paperwork conversion could take 6-10 weeks and will result in
    A) A full teaching certificate
    B) A one year teaching certificate so I can take "test"
    C) told to go start my training over

I'm trying to figure out how to find work while abroad or if I even can.
    I have 5+ years teaching in China and Turkey, from a regular ESL teacher to being a head teacher.
    But as none of that was as a "legally qualified teacher" I am not sure it counts.

I have applied to a lot of jobs in Houston (20+) but no one has responded.

My questions
    1. Will schools even look at me if I am trained abroad and won't have the official paperwork until July/August?
    2. Can I find work if I can't be there in person to interview or give a demo lesson?
    3. Should I be worried that while I apply for every job I can find, no one at all has replied?

3. TeacherNY

TeacherNY Phenom

Mar 29, 2017

You will have to speak with someone in that state's education department. They will probably want your transcripts to see if your coursework is compatible with their requirements. Did you just decide to move back home? I'm assuming you knew it wouldn't be easy.

4. Mr_Gourami

Mr_Gourami New Member

Mar 29, 2017

we were planning to stay in the UK. my wife just lost her job, got offered 3x the salary in the USA...