How do I answer?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Exclaimation Po, Aug 4, 2007.

1. Exclaimation Po

Exclaimation Po Habitué

Aug 4, 2007

How do I answer when asked why I'm no longer at my last school? I was not asked back. I had a one year contract as a first year teacher and my principal chose not to ask me back. I did not get a reason why she made this decision. In fact, she never seriously talked to me after November.:( All I know is that my performance evaluation was great (a 3 out of 4, what more could a first year teacher ask for?). Since I was a first year teacher, she had no obligation to tell me why she wasn't asking me back.

Any suggestions on how to make this sound not that bad??

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Aug 4, 2007

Maybe just say that the school wasn't right for you and you wanted a better fit?

4. teach123

teach123 Cohort

Aug 4, 2007

This is the same answer I posted to a similar question on another thread.
    A few weeks ago, I asked a hiring manager the same question. He said I was supposed to answer with, "I enjoyed my time at XXX, but I am ready to pursue other options." If you didn't enjoy your time at that particular school, you could possibly say, I learned a lot from my experience at XXX, but I wanted to pursue this opportunity.

5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Aug 4, 2007

Yeah, teach123's is a better answer. Go with that one! :)

6. srh

srh Devotee

Aug 4, 2007