How do children ask for help in your Montessori classroom? Overwhelmed!

Discussion in 'Montessori' started by crispywafers, Mar 22, 2008.

1. crispywafers

crispywafers New Member

Mar 22, 2008

Hello all,

I am a relatively new Montessori teacher (2 years). I have a fairly happy humming classroom (30 kids), however I feel the children in my room might be too dependent on me? I have observed other montessori classrooms and feel like I see the teacher/directress able to walk around the room, observing, etc.

Whereas in my room - I can have a backup of 4 or 5 children waiting for my help. What have I done wrong?

In my classroom we taught the children to come over and put there hand on our shoulder if they needed help - this way they do not interrupt if I am currently talking/giving a lesson, etc. However, now, by the end of the day I can feel clausterphobic - as I sometimes have 5 children build up with hands on me waiting at a time!

How do you have the children in your room ask for help? Do they put their hand on your shoulder? Do they sit somewhere?

I'm not sure if I have a problem here with my classroom - as maybe too many children are needing help? (requesting paper, wanting me to check a paper/work, needing help to sound out a word, wanting to tell me they have finished, asking me if I can please choose a work cause they dont' know what they want to do, wanting to tell me the work they are going to go do (esp the little ones like to do this), wanting to show me how nicely they rolled a mat,. etc. etc.)

Or is this a problem with how we have set up the "asking help" policy in our room - with the children coming over to me and putting their hand on my shoulder.

At this point I can't even get through 1 lesson without being interrupted several times.

Thanks for any tips/insight!

3. Yenna

Yenna Companion

Mar 23, 2008

Hi Crispywafers!
    I would offer you several thoughts: