How did you get your current job?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by Dare2Teach, Jul 18, 2018.

?

How did you get your current job?

1. Relationship with someone at the facility

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Referral from a peer

2 vote(s)
    10.5%
  3. Previous experience/relationship with the facility

3 vote(s)
    15.8%
  4. Other

14 vote(s)
    73.7%
  1. Dare2Teach

Dare2Teach Rookie

Jul 18, 2018

Hi, everyone. This is Dare2Teach.

I have currently been a year and a half out of college ever since I graduated back in December of 2016, and have been trying to get a job ever since. This has been really tough on me, lately, and I'm sure this is just a way of life.

One problem I have with getting a job, though, is that I would hate to play the "relationship" card. In other words, I would hate to get a job simply because I know someone from the facility, and vice versa, especially if that person is head of the facility. I just think that this is unfair for other applicants who do not know anybody, and might be a better candidate than the one who does know someone. No offense for those of you that got your job this way.

I am creating this thread because I thought it would be interesting to hear how some of you got your current position.

I just want to know if you got your job by a means of knowing someone from the facility/someone knowing you, referral from a peer, previous experience/relationships with the facility, etc.

The reason I want to know this is because I would like to try and see if I can get responses that are across the board, meaning that there were different ways you all got your current job position.

Thank you in advance for your answers! I look forward to hearing your responses.

- Dare2Teach

3. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Jul 18, 2018