How challenging is it to teach 3rd grade in Florida?

Discussion in 'Third Grade' started by pamms, Jun 12, 2007.

1. pamms

pamms Comrade

Jun 12, 2007

Hi,

I will likely be switching grades next year. I've been teaching 2nd. I may teach 1st, but there is a possibility for 3rd. I feel sure I'd prefer the 3rd grade age group and curriculum, but there is that looming FCAT with the mandatory retention, etc. Our school tends to have very vocal parents. We definitly hear about it when they aren't happy ;-).

Can any of you 3rd grade, Florida teachers tell me a little more about teaching 3rd? How difficult is it to get yourself to feel prepared for FCAT? I also understand there is some requirement to keep student portfolios. Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks!

3. AHB

AHB Rookie

Jun 12, 2007

I was a 5th grade teacher last year and my child was a third grade student in FL. It is crazy with FCAT! But, it is possible and I know many teachers who love 3rd. Reading is the most critical in 3rd. Keep a website and a log of some kind with information on student and parent conferences. That way if you notice early on that a student is struggling, then you have it documented. Also, the advance notice to parents may just be all the child needs to get the attention at home...reading to parent each night, and don't forget the multiplication facts. There are many children in Florida I fear that leave the third grade barely knowing their multiplication facts and it doesn't really get addressed again until 5th grade. I can't tell you the number of 5th graders I've had that didn't know anything except 1's, 2's, 5's, and 10's.