How can I turn this around?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by workingwithkids, Dec 3, 2016.

1. workingwithkids

workingwithkids Rookie

Dec 3, 2016

I am a 6th grade RELA teacher at an AVID demonstration school and just had a meeting with my principal that I am very angry about. This is my 5th year teaching but my first year teaching the subject and grade level at this school. At the beginning of November, I had my formal evaluation and I thought it went really well even though I was sick. Our school district is using a completely new evaluation system this year so nobody knows what to expect. Two days later, my alt and my principal came in to do a data collection walk and my class was reviewing for a vocabulary test coming up. At the beginning of the year, my team told me that we spend 1 hr a day (we have the students for 2 hours) reviewing the vocabulary words. When they are collecting data, they are suppose to only stay 15 minutes, however that day they stayed 45 minutes so it was like getting two formal observations in a week. We worked on vocabulary review the entire time they were in there (it was on our lesson plans for that week). The principal came back and told me that I spent too much time reviewing for the test. That Friday, I had a 15 minute new teacher check-in with him and he brings up the vocabulary review again and I told him that I don't usually spend that much time on vocabulary except for review weeks. He also told me not to try to fix the kids. I asked him what he meant and he told me to quit going to the diagonistian (I have only spoken to her once and it was to hand her an envelope from one of my students). I tried to explain this to him but he told me that he had heard otherwise. I have my post conference for my evaluation right before Thanksgiving break and got all 2's and 3's-where 3's are really good and 2's are good. I thought I had done a good job. The Monday we get back from Thanksgiving break, I get an email from my apprai