How can I loosen up in the classroom?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by MassNerder, Mar 27, 2011.

1. MassNerder

MassNerder Rookie

Mar 27, 2011

I have been teaching for about 2 years now. I've taught one year of first grade and now I'm teaching second. I have had all good write ups for my observations with my administration. I need to be observed several times over the course of the year. However, recently I asked one of my administrators what else could I do to become a better teacher. My administrator said that one thing they noticed when observing me is that I'm very "tight". They said they would like to see me loosen up and be able to see that I'm enjoying myself.
    This observation hit me quite hard. I honestly love what I do and for that not to be obvious when watching me, is very upsetting. I feel that I normally am quite loose with the kids and will joke around, be silly, dress up, etc. At the same time I need to be honest and admit I do stiffen up when someone is observing me, whether it be a fellow teacher, parent, or administrator. I really want to change this. I also want my rapport with the children to be observable. In everyday life I acknowledge that I am shy and am very straightforward. I want to become less "up-tight" and learn to loosen up in my school environment, especially in my classroom when I'm being observed. Any advice? I love what I do and I would hate to have good write ups for my lessons and but then have the critique that I'm too "stiff" in the classroom.

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Mar 27, 2011

I completely ignore that my administrator is even in the room. The first few minutes I know they are there, but then I engross myself in the classroom and forget about them.

You may want to ask them to observe from the doorway once at an unknown time. Then you wouldn't even know that they are there.

4. scmom

scmom Enthusiast

Mar 27, 2011