How can i include a good reading program into my special education class

Discussion in 'Special Education Archives' started by lee123, Sep 30, 2006.

1. lee123

lee123 New Member

Sep 30, 2006

i am a second year teacher who has made it my mission this year to immerse my students in more literacy. I am at the assessment stage and i am not doing too good of a job at it. my school gives me no assessment tools and my kids deserve to learn how to read. they are at the capacity of pre k - high first grade. any suggestions?

3. sammyrams

sammyrams Companion

Sep 30, 2006

You could get a subscription to reading A-Z. It is 80.00 but it has everything you could possibly need. Has assessment, leveled readers, decodable books, fluency passages, etc. I use it and love it.

4. ahsila

ahsila Companion

Oct 11, 2006

If there is money in the budget, I say go with the Wilson Reading system. It was developed for dyslexic adults, but I have found it is great for most SpEd students. The program says to start with the basics to build a good foundation - that would be great for young studnets. It also says to progress slowly, so that would also work for your students. Even if you chose not to buy the program, you could easily recreate most of the supplies with only a small investment. The program itself is pretty common sense once you have the supplies.

www.wilsonlanguage.com

5. Proud2BATeacher

Proud2BATeacher Phenom

Oct 11, 2006