How can I help them find a page in a book?

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by aek471, Apr 8, 2008.

1. aek471

aek471 Rookie

Apr 8, 2008

I've been teaching first grade for three years now and I still struggle with what to do with this. Around the middle of the year, we obviously start getting farther along in our workbooks/textbooks. When I tell students to turn to a certain page, those who lack number sense have no idea on how to find the page (generally with pages above 100). They will go one page at a time until they find it, rely on their peers to do it for them, etc. It's so hard to watch them struggle but I feel that if I just open up their book to the right page, I'm doing the work for them and they will never learn their numbers! I've tried to give mini lessons on this, but to no avail. It seems like a little thing, but it comes up several times a day with several students. PLEASE HELP!

3. Tasha

Tasha Phenom

Apr 8, 2008

If you go in order, let them use a sticky note on the last page you completed and start from there each day. You could also use color coded flags for tens (red for 0-9, blue for 10s, green for 20s, etc) until they start to develop the sense. I would also point things out like a think aloud (50 is in the middle, the last page is 75, starting at the back would be faster to find page 70).

4. cb4pebbles

cb4pebbles Companion

Apr 8, 2008

I love the colored flag idea. So simple!

5. Teach in Tampa

Teach in Tampa Rookie

Apr 11, 2008

I feel your pain with this issue! I have a few kids that really struggle with this. I like the suggestion of just keeping a post it note on the last page and have them go from there. It's nice to know that there are others experiencing this too!

6. sherri0318

sherri0318 Rookie

Apr 13, 2008

Here's what I do and it works GREAT!