How can I explain this gap on my cover letter?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Birdie86, Mar 31, 2015.

1. Birdie86

Birdie86 Rookie

Mar 31, 2015

Hello everyone, I am new to the forum and need some advice. I received my degree in elementary ed. in 2011, but I did not get my teaching certification (EC-6 in Texas) until last year. This was because a year before I graduated I lost my mother who was literally my best friend. I pushed my way through student teaching to graduation, and after that I just needed time to myself to grieve and heal and it just took me a lot longer than I anticipated. During this time I remained in the field by substitute teaching, that way I could go at my own pace but still maintain my knowledge and skills, etc. I did this while slowly prepping to take the cert. exam. I'm fine now and I'm working as a full time pre-k teacher at a private center, wanting to get into a district. How can I explain this briefly in a cover letter to explain the gap between obtaining my degree and my certification while being professional and it not hurting my chances? Would simply noting (but not necessarily elaborating on) a "tragic family event" as the cause be bad? Or is that even too personal? I'm so worried I could say the wrong thing and this could hurt me.

3. miss-m

miss-m Devotee

Mar 31, 2015

If you were subbing in the interim I wouldn't really consider it a gap? Unless you just mean the gap between graduation and certification?
    I wouldn't worry about it too much, tbh. Put your experience on your resume as it happened, and if someone is concerned about it in an interview they'll ask and you can tell them there was a death in the family.

4. Birdie86

Birdie86 Rookie

Mar 31, 2015