How awful is it to leave a job mid-quarter

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by We'veGotDodgesonHere, Oct 25, 2016.

1. We'veGotDodgesonHere

We'veGotDodgesonHere New Member

Oct 25, 2016

I'm a 7th/8th grade ELA teacher at a title I school. It's my first year teaching, I was hired last-second, and things have been chaotic ever since. I'm having severe classroom management issues. The students talk/shout/throw things/wander around the room non-stop, to the point where the quiet ones just put their heads down because they know we're not going to get anywhere with the lesson. They laugh or get angry when I "dare" tell them to stop talking while I'm talking. I've built friendly relationships with many of them, but it doesn't seem to change their behavior. (Though I guess laughing and saying sorry before going right back to what they were doing is an improvement over insulting me to my face.) I'm not certified to be a reading instructor, but I'm dealing with kids who read at a 3rd-4th grade level. Between my sloppy pacing and lack of control over the class, I worry I'm doing more harm than good. I'm up late every night planning lessons that are never good enough to hold their attention. I wake up nauseous with dread every morning, I'm breaking out in anxious hives, and I keep nodding off during the 45 minute drive home. The administration is very supportive, and I'm friendly with the other teachers, but I'm exhausted and moody and half-worried this job might literally kill me.