How are New teachers teaching 9/11?

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by nyteacher29, Aug 7, 2012.

1. nyteacher29

nyteacher29 Comrade

Aug 7, 2012

Hi all, I am going to be a new middle school teacher come September and I am trying to figure out the best approach in teaching 9/11 to students who were basically just born. I only have a day on 9/11.

I was wondering how everyone was going to address it (or if they are)? I have one friend who is telling me I should steer clear of the topic since it is not mandated in my curriculum, but I cannot bring myself to not teach about it! especially since I am a history teacher! Any advice would be great!

Thank you!

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 7, 2012

4. nyteacher29

nyteacher29 Comrade

Aug 7, 2012

I am worried that picture books may be too young for middle schoolers (7th to be exact).

But thank you for your suggestions! I definitely want to do something with reading and writing.

5. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

Aug 7, 2012

I think there would besome great slideshows or PowerPoints suitable for your seventh graders...I'd hit up Google. :)

6. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Aug 7, 2012

I used picture books with my Grade 7 and 8 students all the time last year (at least once/week).

Last year, I did a unit on "Heroes" and tied in 9/11. We looked at some of the "most powerful" images of the day, read personal accounts, wrote about "everyday" heroism. Some of the books I used: We all Fall Down, a novel by Eric Walters, 14 Cows for America, a picture book, and the picture book that czacza linked to.

7. nyteacher29

nyteacher29 Comrade

Aug 7, 2012

Mrs.C, did the picture books go over well with the students? Did any of the students express that they felt it was too "babyish?" I think picture books can teach a lot, however, I have never taught 7th grade (only hs).

8. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Aug 7, 2012