Hostile work environment - no admin support, no union

Discussion in 'General Education' started by sapphireblue, Dec 14, 2013.

1. sapphireblue

sapphireblue New Member

Dec 14, 2013

This will be long, sorry.

9th year in education, I am a librarian. This is my second year at this school and I have never been in such an unprofessional environment. Last year I caught an aide gossiping about me; I confronted her about it and told her it was wrong. Apparently that made a mortal enemy out of her; many principal meetings later, NOTHING happened, even though she spread rumors about me and alienated many of my co-workers against me. To this day, she continues to passive-aggressively work against me (i.e., she is supposed to cover me for my 30-min lunch and she is almost always 10 mins late).

ANYWAY, these teachers at this school also run to supervisors to whine and complain instead of bringing it up with the teacher themselves. A certain group of teachers, spurred on by this aide, brought up complaints about me to my super. My super just accepted what they said without even getting my side.

This just happened yesterday. I have a private office with a printer in it. Sometimes others print things to it. Students tape up things to my wall; I don't pay much attention. One of my girl aides, that I've gotten to know very well, posted up a pic of her pushing one of my boy aides off of a cliff and falling into the mouth of a whale looking thing. On it she wrote, this is how i would kill ____. NOW...at the time she did, 8th grade classes were writing stories about how they would kill someone (re-enacting Poe) so it came from that. But anyway, it was very obviously a joke if you know these kids--they are very good friends and have a crush on each other.