HOMEWORK: Your Thoughts

Discussion in 'General Education' started by CFClassroom, Jul 25, 2011.

1. CFClassroom

CFClassroom Connoisseur

Jul 25, 2011

I've really been reflecting on homework this summer.

As a parent, I feel like it takes away from what little family time we have on weeknights.

As a teacher, I feel like it is a waste of time and paper.

I'm trying to come up with some fresh ideas and solutions that will be beneficial to the kids and meet the requirement that homework be issued. I have some thoughts in mind, but would love to know what others are thinking.

So...

How do you feel about homework as a parent, a teacher or both?

What age do you teach?

3. mom2ohc

mom2ohc Habitué

Jul 25, 2011

How do you feel about homework as a parent, a teacher or both?

As a parent, I do not LOVE homework, but like the practice the my daughters have, plus when they are doing homework, I can sit with them and reflect on their learning. However, some nights the homework is overwhelming, or useless. For example my 6 year old who reads like a 4th grade had this sight word book that she was supposed to read every night and have my initial the book. we rarely read the book just because she could already read all the words, and to me, it was not time well spent. At the end of the year, her teacher made sure to make her know that she had the fewest parent signatures in her notebook of the whole class. This made her feel (my daughter) really sad. Something a teacher might do is make more homework multi-level - like in this case.

As a teacher of Kindergarten, I keep the homework very light. I ask parents to read with their children as much as they can - but do not ask for a log of books because I feel that is a waste of paper/time. I send home a monthly calendar of enrichment activities that get done by 75% of the kids.