homework woes!!!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by chase164, Apr 3, 2008.

1. chase164

chase164 New Member

Apr 3, 2008

HI! I am a high school teacher, with a second grader and I need to look to my elementary collegues for advice. My daughter is struggling with reading and homework in general. She is averaging about 45 to 90 mins of homework each night. On average she will get in a week, spelling three nights a week not including practice tests which are dictated sentences, math each night with the exceptation that she will be practicing her mad minutes and her triangle facts nightly, twice a week she has a reading journal that she has to complete along with her 20 mins of reading each night (which is never only 20 mins since she struggles with the reading). This doesn't include extras like research for a paper on shrimp like she has for this weekend. I find that she is hating school and all we are doing is fighting. I know the state GLIC's are getting crazy and teachers have so much to cover but I don't what to do. I don't want her to be burned out at 8!! :help: I have talked to her teachers, to no avail! I would love some insight!!!

3. RainStorm

RainStorm Phenom

Apr 3, 2008

I can't give you any insight. I can't understand if you have talked to her teachers why they haven't adjusted her homework.

Our homework is meant to take 30-40 minutes per night, 4 nights per week. I always tell my parents that if it is taking more than that (and the chid is diligently working, not goofing off) then STOP! Call me or send a note, because it shouldn't be taking so long.

There are many ways homework can be adjusted -- just odd or just even problems can be assigned for math, the number of spelling words can be reduced, etc. If I have a struggling reader, I would rather she read than anything else.