Homework Debate

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Bloom, Jul 27, 2013.

1. Bloom

Bloom Companion

Jul 27, 2013

I am SO on the fence about this topic... have been doing research and re-evaluating my thoughts on this topic since I am about to start with my first classroom. While I am new to teaching I am not a youngster...in my forties and after having a professional career and then taking time off for children have decided to go into this amazing profession. Have a lot of thoughts on this matter, but want to hear from some seasoned professionals about their ideas and experiences. I am not talking about just giving out worksheets to give homework, but really want to know thoughts on benefits and negatives on meaningful homework from those who have been there....

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Jul 27, 2013

We are a project-based school with no official homework policy. We are also a high poverty school and lots of our children don't have access to materials, time, or help to do homework.

So...I assign optional homework for the children and parents who request. I usually assign a short term project about something we are studying in class and I allow them to present their project in class. They receive extra credit.

I try to make the projects varied and interesting to encourage as many students as possible to participate.

I ask my children to read as much as possible and try to keep a well stocked classroom library for them.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jul 27, 2013

My homework gives students an opportunity for additional practice and reinforcement of content which has been well taught. It helps students build skills of time management and responsibility. It strengthens the school-home connection.:2cents:

5. Pashtun

Pashtun Fanatic

Jul 27, 2013