Homeschooling Education- The drastic Change

Discussion in 'General Education' started by katie11, Aug 13, 2011.

1. katie11

katie11 Rookie

Aug 13, 2011

I know that even before a decade "Homeschooling" wasn't that popular but in recent trend many families prefer to make their children learn from home. What do you thing as reasons behind these?

3. nikkiluvsu15

nikkiluvsu15 Rookie

Aug 13, 2011

Hmm - I'm not sure why it was for others.

I was home schooled pretty much my whole life :D I absolutely loved being home schooled. My mom works, so the 5 of us would load up around 7:30 and get to her work. We had our own school room with desks where we did all of our school. We didn't leave for home until she was done with work (around 5-5:30). As we got older we dual-enrolled at the HS, as well as the community college.

I graduated in May 2010 and had a graduation ceremony with 2 others. My mom is the director of a home school umbrella, which is basically recognized as a private school.

It was also nice because my dad was a public high school teacher (oh, the irony!) and head coach for varsity football/softball. So, we would take him to work in Jacksonville (which is 1hr 10mins from our house!) and then go to the library to do all school work. After we got done we would just hang around J-ville until the game.

For us, it is just something my parents wanted to do and I loved it :) I wasn't "sheltered" like so many people think home schoolers are, either :p:

Don't get me wrong though, there are so many people that abuse homeschooling and it makes me mad. My parents did it the right way and still sometimes we were ridiculed.

4. Ms.SLS

Ms.SLS Cohort

Aug 13, 2011