HOME WORK PACKET

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by Bolivar09, Aug 17, 2009.

1. Bolivar09

Bolivar09 Rookie

Aug 17, 2009

Hello
    I'm a new teacher and i was wondering what method you use for homework. I would also like to see sample homework packet so i could have a idea of what to included weekly......

Thanks

3. teacherSMK

teacherSMK Habitué

Aug 17, 2009

I have S.C.H.O.O.L folders (like bee books) that go home nightly. The only homework that I put in their folders, that will be routine hw, is a reading log, for 15 minutes of reading nightly, a letter review page, and a counting worksheet. As I go through the year I give various worksheets as supplements, so the parents can see what their children are learning, and I feel like it gives the kiddos that warm fuzzy feeling to have hw like their bigger sibling. But routine, as I said is just the alphabet, counting, and reading.

4. TeacherC

TeacherC Connoisseur

Aug 17, 2009

I don't do a weekly homework packet, though we are required to give it nightly. They have to have one math thing to do, and one LA/phonics activity. It is not always written, but sometimes just practicing counting/reading/letter sounds, etc. Do you have anyone at your school that you can work with?

5. MandaNicole01

MandaNicole01 Habitué

Aug 17, 2009

I send home AR books later in the year and word rings. Other than that, no homework at my school for kinder.

6. Lynnnn725

Lynnnn725 Connoisseur

Aug 17, 2009

My son's kinder had a homework schedule. Monday night problem solving journal. Tuesday and Wednesday - leveled reader. Thursday - fluency binder (aka poetry binder)

7. teacherSMK

teacherSMK Habitué

Aug 17, 2009

What was the problem solving journal?:confused:

8. DrivingPigeon

DrivingPigeon Phenom

Aug 18, 2009