Home Hospital teachers

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by hope037, Nov 1, 2006.

1. hope037

hope037 Rookie

Nov 1, 2006

Is anyone a home hospital teacher? If so, can you tell me the pros and cons about your job? What is your typical day like?

Thanks in advance.

3. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Nov 2, 2006

I was a full-time home/hospital teacher for a year, and I still occasionally take a student or two in addition to my full-time teaching job.

I really enjoyed my job! In fact, it's one that I would consider doing again. I took the position because my teaching position had been eliminated, and I wanted to stay in the district in a position other than subbing. They offered me the home/hospital job. In additon to my regular pay, I also got mileage. I did everything from one week jobs to year-long positions. I visited each child twice a week for one hour. I sometimes stayed longer if my schedule permitted and they needed the help.

For the short-term jobs I contacted the regular teacher who got things together for me, and I dropped off the completed work when I got it back from the student. For the long-term jobs, I taught everything myself and kept all the grades.

I thought it was interesting getting to see the kids at home and meet the families. I did used to joke that nobody in town ever went homebound . . . it was always the kids way out in the sticks.

I did have an occasional problem where a student would not be home when I'd go for my visit. I kept track and if they missed too many visits I'd report them as truant just like in regular school. Once I had a step-father . . . drunk . . . say all kinds of rude things to me, and I simply got my stuff and left. The guy got in trouble, and the step-daughter was required to meet me at the public library for her instruction.

I mostly got high school and middle school kids, which is my teaching degree. I pretty much got all of the pregnancies. I rocked and fed lots of babies that year!