Hmmmm - grumble

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by TheConspiracy, Jun 28, 2006.

1. TheConspiracy

TheConspiracy Companion

Jun 28, 2006

Well, I went to my new school today to sign my contract paperwork and I am getting a little *worried*

They were nice to me and friendly and all - but I am feeling a little left in the dark.

They didn't seem to remember my appointment to come in and then they just kinda left me alone with the stuff for about 10 mins. Then when I asked about meeting with someone who could get me a copy of my text books, etc (since this is my first year teaching I need to get going ASAP to get a few unit plans in order since I am going from scratch). They gave me a number to an AP whose message machine says they are unavailable until FRI.

They haven't even offered to take me on a tour of the school and I am feeling a little weird about asking.

I had to remind them I am new and the secretary seemed surprised and then gave me a pamphlet about going to a district orientation and told me someone would be in touch about a school orientation the FRI before teacher inservice week.

I am just feeling a little ignored and left to dangle. I would like to at least see the school and feel like I know what is going on. Maybe I am just feeling this way because it took 2 weeks to get an appointment to do my paperwork.

I'm just getting a weebly wobbly feeling here. Their lack of...i dunno what to call it.... is making me feel insecure.

Anyone else left twisting when they first began to teach?

~J

3. Mamacita

Mamacita Aficionado

Jun 28, 2006