Hitting problems

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by luckypanda, Sep 28, 2010.

1. luckypanda

luckypanda Rookie

Sep 28, 2010

This is my first year as a teacher and I have about 4 to 5 kids in my preschool class of 23 who are constantly hitting, pushing, or being too rough with the other students. I really need help and advice on what to do to start eliminating this hitting problem. I have tried to talk to the students telling them to use their words not their hands, I have tried to take away minutes at recess, and sitting them by my aid. I just feel like none of these things are working! I am feeling very frustrated that nothing seems to be working! Any help would be greatly appreciated! :help: :help: :help:

3. kejadair

kejadair New Member

Sep 28, 2010

I teach 2 1/2 and 3's and I understand where you are coming from! (Terrible twos!) Anyway, my advice is to be consistent with one consequence. Make it clear that this what happens because of the choice they made. Get down on their level and speak firmly and clearly. If they are upset or mad, separate them and sit them down until they calm down, because they can't listen while they are upset.

Here's what works for me:

Student hits someone.

I immediately go first to the student who was hurt and make sure they are okay. This shows the hitter that they are not getting the attention that they want for their action.

Then I go to the student who hit. I get down on their level, and put my hands on their shoulders. I say, "You may NOT hit _________ (victim's name). Because you chose to hit, you have to sit in time-out for 3 minutes."

Then I sit them down in the time-out area. If they try to get up and leave, I sit them down again. If they scream and yell and throw a fit, I tell them that I will not start the timer until they sit quietly. I set my timer for 3 minutes.