History Textbook

Discussion in 'High School' started by tiki7719, Sep 24, 2008.

1. tiki7719

tiki7719 Companion

Sep 24, 2008

Hi,

I am an undergrad student and I am currently taking a course (intro to social studies) and one of the debates is the use of a textbook in the classroom. My professor is totally against having a history textbook in the classroom. He rather have readings, hand-outs, etc..so the teacher isn't using the textbook to teach from.

Just out of curiosity, how many use a textbook regularly in their classroom? Also, what are the pros/cons of using a textbook in the class?

Thank you all for taking the time out to read this and I hope to hear some responses :)

3. EZLN1

EZLN1 Companion

Sep 24, 2008

i have yet to have my own classroom....but unless I was obligated by my school to use a textbook, I would never use one, at least not those generic ones I had in HS. I would never teach my students the bunch of BS found in those books. Articles, excerpts. films, for me.

4. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Sep 24, 2008

I teach elementary (5th self-contained) and one middle school math class. I don't use a history text for 5th, and don't use the math text for the MS class.

For history, we use a variety of materials - it's a lot of organizing to put it all together and make sure it covers the necessary topics, but it's worth it. The textbooks are on the shelf. They are beautiful and we refer to them occasionally to look something up.

5. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Sep 24, 2008

I don't teach history, but as usual feel free to give my 2 cents anyway.

His way of teaching sounds wonderful, but maybe just the tiniest bit impractical. (As is so often the case in education classes.)

Once you buy a textbook, you can get lots of use from it for a number of years, even considering how quickly history texts become outdated. Supplementing that text with handouts would enable a teacher to keep her class up to date.