History and coaching?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Histo_AC, Aug 5, 2010.

1. Histo_AC

Histo_AC Rookie

Aug 5, 2010

I am a high school student that really wants to become a Secondary History teacher in the near future. I was looking through a local universities History Degree with secondary education and I found that Coaching was put on the site along with it. I found it kind of strange, but not too strange because I have seen a few coaches at my school who taught history too.

Is this common, because I really want to become a history teacher, but coaching is not for me at all.

What are your thoughts on this? Have you seen a rise in coaches who are also History teachers. Is your school district still hiring history teachers who aren't coaches?

Thanks in advance!

3. Brendan

Brendan Fanatic

Aug 5, 2010

In my area it's completely separate. Athletics hiring is different than Academics hiring.

4. bros

bros Phenom

Aug 5, 2010

Different areas have different needs. Perhaps the majority of High School History teachers that graduate from that college also become coaches.

Shoot an email off to the school

5. Sarge

Sarge Enthusiast

Aug 6, 2010

It's one of those stereotypes grounded in reality that history teachers are often coaches as well.

Let me explain.

In order to teach math at all, you need a certain level of expertise in mathematics.

In order to teach English at all, you need a certain level of expertise in English.

And in order to teach science at all, you need a certain level of expertise in science.

In any of the above subjects, a person who has only had a few college courses in those subjects would be very uncomfortable teaching them.

But history is different. A lot of people who have only taken the basic U.S. history and government courses in college are more than willing to try and teach it. Note that I said "try."