Hiring season?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by MonicaWinter, Jun 13, 2014.

1. MonicaWinter

MonicaWinter Rookie

Jun 13, 2014

Is it safe to assume that if SDs had jobs, they would be posted by now? That, if they are simply posting service jobs or the few teaching jobs...this is all they have? I am confused, because I have heard for YEARS how this district is SO struggling to find teachers...dozen or more vacancies each year...then, when I finally decide to apply, all of a sudden there are no vacancies?!

This is stressful. I give a lot of credit to those who do this for YEARS. I can hang in there because I already have a job, but I was excited that this would be my year...and now I am not so sure.

Also...what are your thoughts on accepting mid-year vacancies?

3. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Jun 13, 2014

Around here, hiring season hasn't even started yet. When I graduated in 2006, it was over by May. Budgets are tighter and they wait until the last minute. The largest district in my county didn't post jobs until mid-August last year.

I accepted a mid-year vacancy last year. The year before, I changed positions when a mid-year vacancy within my school opened. One was a retirement and one was because her husband received a job out of state.

4. RedStripey

RedStripey Comrade

Jun 13, 2014

Yeah, I agree with Giraffe. I'm still fairly new to this (graduated a year ago) but I got a lot more calls for interviews in August than in any other month. It seems like internal candidates are hired first, and then other vacancies are filled by external people. :)

5. Teacher Gii

Teacher Gii Companion

Jun 13, 2014