Hiring from within...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by smalltowngal, Apr 23, 2008.

1. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Apr 23, 2008

Is this becoming a recurring theme among districts? From what job seekers are saying, this is a major hang up on why they haven't been interviewed or offered a job. I'm just wondering why districts post the job online knowing that it might be filled by transfers or an aide moving into a teacher's role.

And is this something that new teachers should expect? To work as an aide the first year or two out of college in order to work as a teacher?

3. jw13

jw13 Groupie

Apr 23, 2008

I have heard this too, and I am a veteran teacher with 10yrs. experience. I have seen some postings up for over two months and have been told they hire from within.

4. scienceteach82

scienceteach82 Cohort

Apr 23, 2008

What happens to the other position then? People just shuffled around?

5. Maryhf

Maryhf Connoisseur

Apr 23, 2008

I was hired last year over an internal candidate. I guess he was internal. He had just finished student teaching and my district often hires them. I hear that he really thought he had the job and I impressed them and he didn't. I subbed for years in my home district and couldn't get them to hire me. Moral of the story is...keep trying!

6. smalltowngal

Apr 23, 2008

I'm not giving up! This just seems to be the norm in most districts. The thing is I think I have great qualifications that would get me an interview, but haven't been called one time. And when I emailed to make sure everything was right with my application, they said they were still working with transfers and within district hires.

7. scienceteach82

scienceteach82 Cohort

Apr 23, 2008

Just believe! :)

8. txmomteacher2

txmomteacher2 Enthusiast

Apr 23, 2008

In Texas the opening must be posted for at least 10 days whether or not they are filling it internally or filling it with people they all ready had lined up.

9. Hoot Owl