Hired as Math Interventionist Today

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Alisha, Aug 16, 2011.

1. Alisha

Alisha Cohort

Aug 16, 2011

Hello everyone, I just wanted to introduce myself.

This is going to be my third year teaching. I got hired this morning to be the math interventionist at a k-5 elementary school. I am brand new to elementary! I've only done sixth and seventh before.

The position will basically be small groups of intervention and enrichment kids throughout the day, but the principal told me that because this is a new program to the school, basically whatever I envision goes. This sounds great, but I might need some tips from you great math teachers as I go.

I'm thrilled to have this very new challenge and would love any suggestions you can give me right off the bat!

Thank you everyone. I look forward to hanging around here with you this school year!

(PS My 15 month old tore my "t" off of my computer keyboard, I think I found most of the ones I missed, but please bear with me if I haven't.:eek:)

3. CFClassroom

CFClassroom Connoisseur

Aug 16, 2011

Congrats on the new job. It seems like you have a great attitude going into it since you are open to ideas. I would use that and ask the teachers you'll be working with, how your time could best be utilized in a way that is most beneficial to their children. Have fun with it!

4. MzMooreTeaches

MzMooreTeaches Cohort

Aug 16, 2011

Congrats!! I guess the first tip/advice would be to work closely with the teaches who students you will have in small groups.

Ask them where the students are having difficulty, need more help on etc. This will help guide your small groups. As the students meet goals, then you can add on more skills for them to work on.

5. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Aug 16, 2011

Congrats!!! Is it going to be more of a pull-out situation where you see groups of students for 30-45 minutes per day?

6. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Aug 16, 2011