"Highly Qualified"

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by youmanj, Jul 9, 2010.

1. youmanj

youmanj Rookie

Jul 9, 2010

"Highly Qualified"

what does that exactly mean?

I am in constant contact with a school and just the other day, they said that the district is all Title 1 and that I might have to take a test to become "highly qualified"

I head you take a test for this title. Has anyone taken it before, what is it like?

Thanks,
    J

3. MrsKP

MrsKP Companion

Jul 9, 2010

I'm not sure what state you're in...

For me, highly qualified meant that I graduated with a degree in education and passed the GACE for my subjects (early childhood, middle grades math, middle grades science)

4. youmanj

youmanj Rookie

Jul 9, 2010

I graduated in Michigan, and I'm looking for employment in Texas

I've applied for my 1 year and I'm waiting on that

meanwhile, I've contacted the district and they told me that I might have to take a test to become highly qualified

5. Unbeknownst

Unbeknownst Cohort

Jul 9, 2010

From the educational board FAQ site:

"Competence in each core academic subject area in which the teacher teaches" in Texas means at least 24 credit hours in your content area.

To get certified in your area, you have to take and pass your content-area TExES exam.

6. DHE

DHE Connoisseur

Jul 9, 2010

In our state, it means to pass a test in the area in which you are working.

You can be "highly qualified" and not certified. so you would still have to work on your certification after becoming highly qualified.

7. TeacherApr

TeacherApr Groupie

Jul 9, 2010

Basically it means you have the certification needed for the position you are in. I.E. teaching certificate with an endorsement in English if you wanted to teach high school English.

It's also saying that if you have your teaching degree in jr high Science you can't be a Jr High Math teacher.