High School to Middle School

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by kan3288, Jan 17, 2015.

1. kan3288

kan3288 Rookie

Jan 17, 2015

This is my first year teaching, and I am a math teacher at a high school. I am debating whether or not I want to stay at the high school level. I student taught at a middle school (7th and 8th grade). I love my job, and I love math, but sometimes I miss the middle school level. Some reasons I may want to switch to middle school:
    -I feel like I am more of a kid at heart, and I love that the younger students still have that "kid" side in them.
    -I feel like there is less pressure for teachers at the middle school level. High school is a critical time for students, and all that administrators care about are grades and test scores.
    -I believe that at the middle school level you can still make a difference about how students feel about math. Once students get to high school, they are pretty set on what they like/don't like and most of those students who hated math in middle school continue to hate math and, at this point, don't put any effort into learning the material. (I teach a class of seniors, and of course, they definitely fit this model)
    -I want to do more "fun" activities, and I feel like high school students are past that stage. We do some cool activities in class, but I love doing the more kid-friendly crafty stuff too.

It's hard because I really enjoy the more complex subjects in math at the high school level, but, at the same time, I feel like I can relate better to younger students. I felt more appreciated by my middle school students, and they seemed to want to get to know me more than the high schoolers. I know the one major difference in middle school is the discipline issues (which luckily I don't have too much right now with high school), so that would be the one negative thing about going back.